Tonic Design Awarded the George Matsumoto Prize for Fourth Time

matsumto prize 2015July 23, 2015 (Raleigh, NC) – For the fourth year in a row, tonic design | tonic construction has taken top honors in the George Matsumoto Prize for Modernist residential design throughout North Carolina. The prize was sponsored by North Carolina Modernist Houses, a non-profit organization dedicated to documenting, preserving, and promoting Modernist residential design across the state from the  mid-century to today.

Partners Vincent Petrarca and Katherine Hogan, AIA, received second place in the “Jury Awards” category for the Crabill Modern residence they designed and built in Hillsborough, NC. The home is a reinterpretation of a two-story house, with spatial overlaps and plenty of open space and a minimal footprint.
This was Tonic’s fourth consecutive prize in the competition. Last year, the firm’s Smart-Stell Residence in Durham, NC received First Place in the Jury Awards category. In 2013, Tonic’s Rank Residence in Pittsboro, NC won First Place in the Jury Awards category. Also, the Walters Residence received Third Place in NCMH’s awards program.

About The George Matsumoto Prize
The George Matsumoto Prize for North Carolina Modernist residential architecture is a unique design competition featuring $6,000 in awards, a blue-ribbon jury of internationally known architects and designers, and online public voting.  NCMH created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 honor of George Matsumoto FAIA, one of the founding faculty members of North Carolina State University’s School of Design who designed some of North Carolina’s most well-known and well-loved Modernist houses.  
The Matsumoto Prize is the only juried architecture competition in North Carolina that focuses exclusively on Modernist houses, provides financial awards, involves a national jury plus public voting, and connects to a major architectural archive.  The Prize meaningfully and powerfully engages the public with the architecture they love and showcases exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina.  The 2015 Prize was underwritten by Leland Little Auctions.